Skip to content
ManchesterCountsManchester, in numbers.Local help →

Manchester · England

Projects

Manchester council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Named local schemes and plans, with the responsible body and the latest stage established by the source checked. A proposal, funding announcement and completed project are different things.

Holt Town, between Ancoats and the Etihad Campus

Holt Town neighbourhood

A proposed neighbourhood would add homes, workspaces, green routes and local services between the city’s eastern neighbourhoods and Sportcity.

Neighbourhood framework published; phased delivery ahead · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Manchester City Council and development partners

Latest evidence: The council describes a framework guiding investment over 10 to 20 years, including housing, river and canal spaces, a play route and services. Its proposed totals are ambitions, not completed development.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Holt Town →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Strangeways and adjoining Salford land

Strangeways and Cambridge regeneration framework

The plan combines support for existing businesses with new homes, better walking routes and a proposed shared park.

Regeneration framework approved · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Manchester City Council and Salford City Council

Latest evidence: The council confirms its Executive approved the framework as a guide to development. Copper Park and possible reuse of prison land are future proposals; prison relocation is not confirmed.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Strangeways →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Give existing businesses a clear place in Strangeways renewal →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Smaller council-owned sites across Manchester

Project 500: affordable homes on smaller sites

Smaller council-owned sites can add affordable homes alongside Manchester’s large regeneration schemes. The January update separates completed homes from sites still awaiting building work.

51 first-phase homes complete at the January 2026 update; further phases planned · evidence dated 2026-01-14

Responsible body: Manchester City Council and Manchester Housing Provider Partnership

Latest evidence: The council describes 517 planned affordable homes across 35 sites. Of 357 first-phase homes, 51 were completed; the rest were on site or had permission. The second phase comprised 160 homes. These January stages are not a claim that the later timetable has been met.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named location or council-wide remit does not establish benefits in every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Project 500: affordable homes on smaller sites →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Track small-site homes through to occupation →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

What this local evidence covers

3 reviewed plans and projects

1 have a source-dated stage; 0 have some funding evidence; 0 have some cost evidence. These counts do not prove that funding or costs are complete.

Check each project →

0 verified ward links

Project locations cannot be treated as a map of who benefits. Each record explains any verified ward association.

Read the sources and limits →
What is still missing

The reviewed local schemes are a selected evidence collection, not a complete council capital programme.

Current service capacity, incomes, waiting lists, school demand and project outcomes need additional verified local evidence before firm claims can be made.

The official project pages were read through a web snapshot after direct requests were blocked. Both frameworks guide future investment; they do not secure every proposed building or service.

Project locations have not yet been checked against current ward boundaries. No ward impact is inferred from a city-centre address.

The January 2026 Project 500 update has not been replaced here by a verified October site-by-site completion return.