Skip to content
ManchesterCountsManchester, in numbers.Local help →

Manchester · England

Community life

Manchester council area. Every figure carries its own date.

A place is more than its average house price. The census shows who lives here and some of the pressures households face.

People aged 65 or over

9.5%

21 March 2021 · Manchester

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents

52,167 out of 551,937.

Source and method →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6%

21 March 2021 · Manchester

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

32,978 out of 551,938.

Source and method →

Households facing at least one measured disadvantage

56.4%

21 March 2021 · Manchester

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

121,196 out of 214,729.

Source and method →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

23.6%

21 March 2021 · Manchester

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

50,672 out of 214,729.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

19.7%

21 March 2021 · Manchester

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

86,110 out of 437,958.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with a degree or equivalent

37.6%

21 March 2021 · Manchester

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

164,763 out of 437,958.

Source and method →

Different needs within the area

People reporting bad or very bad health

1.1% to 9%

People reporting bad or very bad health ranged from 1.1% in Deansgate to 9% in Miles Platting & Newton Heath — a gap of 7.9 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 32 of 32 current wards with comparable figures.

Residents described their own health. Differences in age matter, so this is a prompt to investigate needs, not a score for local health services.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People reporting bad or very bad health · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Deansgate1.1%15413,697
Piccadilly2.1%24511,663
Didsbury West3.6%54315,082
Didsbury East3.8%56314,709
Chorlton3.8%49412,843
Hulme3.9%75119,486
Withington4%61915,437
Ancoats & Beswick4.4%64614,821
Rusholme4.9%84817,436
Moss Side4.9%1,03821,275
Fallowfield5%73914,870
Levenshulme5.3%1,04219,647
Ardwick5.5%1,15121,042
Old Moat5.6%85415,364
Cheetham5.6%1,19521,474
Whalley Range5.7%94516,557
Chorlton Park5.7%1,00717,592
Crumpsall5.9%1,06918,196
Longsight6.2%1,30120,873
Moston6.7%1,26418,813
Brooklands7.1%1,07415,234
Burnage7.1%1,30618,506
Northenden7.4%1,10915,064
Charlestown7.4%1,28717,473
Clayton & Openshaw7.7%1,54620,028
Gorton & Abbey Hey7.7%1,62320,988
Baguley7.8%1,24816,066
Harpurhey7.9%1,57319,998
Sharston8.1%1,41617,446
Higher Blackley8.2%1,28115,569
Woodhouse Park8.5%1,30515,414
Miles Platting & Newton Heath9%1,74419,275
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 65 or over

1.8% to 15.6%

People aged 65 or over ranged from 1.8% in Deansgate to 15.6% in Brooklands — a gap of 13.8 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 32 of 32 current wards with comparable figures.

Age helps locate demand for accessible homes, transport and support. Being older does not itself mean someone needs care.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 65 or over · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Deansgate1.8%24913,698
Piccadilly2.5%29711,663
Hulme3.6%70419,489
Ardwick5.2%1,09121,042
Ancoats & Beswick5.7%84714,822
Fallowfield5.8%86514,872
Cheetham6%1,28221,473
Moss Side6.1%1,29621,275
Rusholme6.1%1,07117,433
Longsight7%1,46320,873
Levenshulme7.5%1,46819,647
Withington8.1%1,25515,438
Old Moat8.5%1,30415,367
Whalley Range8.6%1,43016,556
Harpurhey9.2%1,84119,995
Clayton & Openshaw9.3%1,85820,030
Crumpsall10.2%1,86318,198
Gorton & Abbey Hey10.5%2,20220,988
Didsbury West11.5%1,72715,082
Burnage11.7%2,17418,505
Miles Platting & Newton Heath11.8%2,26719,275
Chorlton Park12.1%2,12717,593
Baguley12.3%1,98216,064
Chorlton12.4%1,59712,840
Charlestown12.6%2,20517,471
Woodhouse Park13%2,00515,418
Northenden13.5%2,03015,066
Sharston13.5%2,35217,446
Higher Blackley13.5%2,10915,569
Moston13.9%2,60618,811
Didsbury East15.1%2,22114,708
Brooklands15.6%2,38215,234
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

3.3% to 29.3%

People aged 16+ with no qualifications ranged from 3.3% in Deansgate to 29.3% in Miles Platting & Newton Heath — a gap of 26.1 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 32 of 32 current wards with comparable figures.

Formal qualifications are only one part of someone's skills. Training decisions also need current vacancies, employment and residents' experience.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 16+ with no qualifications · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Deansgate3.3%43713,377
Piccadilly5.2%59311,378
Didsbury West7%92413,223
Hulme9.3%1,60917,267
Chorlton9.3%1,00410,760
Withington9.4%1,29513,721
Didsbury East9.8%1,18312,043
Ancoats & Beswick13.3%1,73313,010
Old Moat13.4%1,76013,118
Fallowfield13.9%1,76412,705
Chorlton Park15.1%2,13714,146
Rusholme16.6%2,44414,721
Ardwick17.3%2,96917,164
Whalley Range17.3%2,28813,201
Brooklands20.9%2,51812,045
Moss Side22.2%3,52015,874
Northenden22.7%2,62311,552
Burnage22.7%3,19814,068
Levenshulme23%3,36614,657
Baguley24.3%3,00812,387
Moston24.6%3,51914,312
Cheetham25%3,95815,848
Charlestown25.2%3,32613,202
Sharston26.8%3,54913,224
Clayton & Openshaw27.1%4,00714,763
Crumpsall27.7%3,64913,188
Woodhouse Park27.8%3,31211,920
Higher Blackley28.1%3,34011,905
Gorton & Abbey Hey28.1%4,33415,432
Harpurhey28.7%4,13414,395
Longsight29.3%4,32514,749
Miles Platting & Newton Heath29.3%4,28614,604
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

5% to 32%

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages ranged from 5% in Deansgate to 32% in Miles Platting & Newton Heath — a gap of 27 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 32 of 32 current wards with comparable figures.

These households met at least two census conditions covering education, employment, health and housing. This is not an income or poverty measure.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Deansgate5%3166,278
Piccadilly8.9%5586,264
Didsbury West9.4%6957,433
Didsbury East10.8%6736,227
Chorlton11.5%6555,680
Ancoats & Beswick14.4%1,0777,466
Hulme17.6%1,3907,879
Withington19.4%1,0745,538
Chorlton Park19.5%1,3887,101
Whalley Range21.4%1,4176,619
Brooklands22.3%1,5156,795
Old Moat23.2%1,3365,757
Moston24.8%1,8507,456
Cheetham25.9%1,8046,952
Levenshulme26%1,8827,234
Northenden26.2%1,5936,072
Rusholme26.5%1,2684,787
Burnage26.5%1,7326,524
Ardwick27.6%1,8626,739
Fallowfield27.8%1,1984,312
Baguley28%1,8876,745
Charlestown28.3%1,9867,030
Moss Side28.5%2,0727,269
Sharston28.6%2,0347,105
Higher Blackley28.6%1,8336,400
Crumpsall28.6%1,7256,022
Clayton & Openshaw29%2,2327,708
Gorton & Abbey Hey30.1%2,5118,353
Harpurhey30.7%2,4267,894
Woodhouse Park31.2%2,0276,496
Longsight31.8%2,0596,473
Miles Platting & Newton Heath32%2,6048,131
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Local places and initiatives

Holt Town, between Ancoats and the Etihad Campus

Holt Town neighbourhood

A proposed neighbourhood would add homes, workspaces, green routes and local services between the city’s eastern neighbourhoods and Sportcity.

Neighbourhood framework published; phased delivery ahead · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Manchester City Council and development partners

Latest evidence: The council describes a framework guiding investment over 10 to 20 years, including housing, river and canal spaces, a play route and services. Its proposed totals are ambitions, not completed development.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Holt Town →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Strangeways and adjoining Salford land

Strangeways and Cambridge regeneration framework

The plan combines support for existing businesses with new homes, better walking routes and a proposed shared park.

Regeneration framework approved · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Manchester City Council and Salford City Council

Latest evidence: The council confirms its Executive approved the framework as a guide to development. Copper Park and possible reuse of prison land are future proposals; prison relocation is not confirmed.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Unmapped: a verified current ward boundary or council ward statement is still needed.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Strangeways →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Give existing businesses a clear place in Strangeways renewal →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Smaller council-owned sites across Manchester

Project 500: affordable homes on smaller sites

Smaller council-owned sites can add affordable homes alongside Manchester’s large regeneration schemes. The January update separates completed homes from sites still awaiting building work.

51 first-phase homes complete at the January 2026 update; further phases planned · evidence dated 2026-01-14

Responsible body: Manchester City Council and Manchester Housing Provider Partnership

Latest evidence: The council describes 517 planned affordable homes across 35 sites. Of 357 first-phase homes, 51 were completed; the rest were on site or had permission. The second phase comprised 160 homes. These January stages are not a claim that the later timetable has been met.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named location or council-wide remit does not establish benefits in every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Project 500: affordable homes on smaller sites →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Track small-site homes through to occupation →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Look beneath the area average →